A Special Birthday Greeting to Vernice, the Best Sister in the World

Since it’s my sister’s birthday today (May 1, at least in the US), I thought I’d dedicate a space for her here on my blog.

jv wedding 032

My sister Vernice is the BEST sister anyone could ever have. As a kid, she was my idol. Growing up I still look up to her.
How can I not? She’s not only pretty but a great dancer, an artist and a true fashionista. Mom did not enroll her in an art class but she can make really nice letterings and draw Disney characters really well (I still have her old sketch pads to prove it!). Just like dancing, she didn’t enroll in any dancing class but she’s good at it. And that’s another thing I admire about her, she gets to learn things all on her own! Just like swimming, one summer she spent an entire day learning to swim all by herself in her cousin’s pool and she actually learned without anyone teaching her.

013Vernice002v

As a daughter she’s very loving and obedient even if we have an extremely strict and protective mom (but I guess it all paid off because at 26 she married her first ever boyfriend).

jv wedding 185

jv wedding 084

As a sister, she’s very generous. :) She doesn’t only let me borrow her clothes, she shops for me, takes me to the movies, takes me out to hang out with her and her friends, and the list just goes on!

jv wedding 066

jv wedding 074 - Copy

She’s more than a blood sister to me. She’s my confidant (my first bestfriend!), my fashion stylist and in many ways she’s like my second mom. :) I remember back in my freshman year in DLSU, not only would she help me pick out clothes for an occasion, she would also drive to pick me up from a friend’s house at night even if she was pregnant.

010

I just love her dearly! And I was sort of heart broken when she left for the US in 2003 to start a new life with her husband and her first born baby JV. I remember crying buckets of tears on her first year there. But I know she’s happy and knowing that is enough to make me happy.

Even with our nine year age gap and each of us belonging to a different father, she never made me feel like we’re only half siblings or half sisters as the society would call it. We’re sisters. Period.

In another lifetime, if God will let me choose I will still choose her to be my sister.

To my sister Vernice (if ever you get to read this):

Happy Happy Birthday Ate!!!

Thank you for being the best sister to me!
I love you so much sis! And I’m proud of you, always!

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Random Blogger. Fashion Lover. Web Developer. Aspiring Pianist. Hopeless Romantic. Audiobook Addict. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a twenty-something Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on May 2, 2013, in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com

    May the Lord bless them with love and happiness.Jalal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers

