127 hours: Surviving Life


I have just seen the movie 127 hours.

I do not know if this movie won any award at the recent Grammy’s but I believe it should have won an award. The film was based on the true story of Aron Ralston. Aron is a mountain climber who had an accident in one of his solo trips to the Canyon. The accident left him with no choice but to cut off his own arm in order to survive.

As his story progressed, I realized my own fears in my life at 25.

Fear of PAIN.

Fear of being ALONE.

Fear of DROWNING.

Fear of having REGRETS.

I honestly do not know if I would be brave enough if I was the one in that situation. However, I have always been a firm believer that EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON. I believe the good Lord allows us to be in a difficult situation for us to realize our own strengths, for us to be able conquer even our deepest fears and for us to think of those important people, who are the reason why we would wish to come out of that situation alive.

In the end, we are all survivors just like Aron Ralston. We live through life’s difficult situations because of FAITH, HOPE and LOVE.

Aron Ralston, arm stuck underneath the boulder

The real Aron Ralston

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on March 22, 2011, in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I couldn’t agree more … I just want to share my insight from climbing a mountain.

    After my first experience of the summit, I created a post relating to struggles one has to face in order to conquer the shoulders of the giants. I also learned that the only way to understand the struggles one must endure in order to reach the mountain’s peak. What I am trying to put across is that life is an interplay of joy and struggles. They always go to together; that’s the way it is. And I think, it’s similar to what you said that the good Lord allows us to be in a difficult situation for us to realize our own strengths, for us to be able conquer even our deepest fears and for us to think of those important people, who are the reason why we would wish to come out of that situation alive.

  2. … to THE struggles …

Leave a Reply

