“Life is not fair; get used to it.” -Bill Gates

Do you ever come to the great realization that LIFE IS UNFAIR?

All your life you’ve tried so hard to be good, doing things out of genuine kindness, trusting that eventually GOOD KARMA will come because you have come to believe the wise saying, ‘NO GOOD DEED GOES UNREWARDED’.

But in the end, all you get from life is not a box of chocolates but a closet full of CRITICISM, MISFORTUNE & CRUELTY  and all that is left for you to give is a bucket of tears.

I DO.

Although at these trying times, I come to question life’s unfairness, I can never afford to question Christ.

If anything, I begin to feel how it must be like for Him when the world crucified Him even when all He did was heal the sick, feed the hungry, and spread love to the world. He didn’t deserve the inhuman things that they did to Him but  Christ still willingly died on the cross to bring salvation to mankind.

Sometimes because of my grief and anger, in my prayer, I would ask God why He allows the good to suffer.

Then I would remember the Passion of Christ. Life had been unfair to Christ but He still embraced sinners with unconditional love and forgiveness.

Scourging at the Pillar

Christ on the cross

Often I would encounter inspiring stories of trials and faith. The usual spiritual message that these stories would convey is, GOD ALLOWS SUFFERING TO TEST OUR FAITH.

With these trials and sufferings, we become closer to Christ. We deepen our faith in Him especially when the whole world seem to turn against us. In the end of every trial, you have a RENEWED FAITH and a STRONGER EVEN BETTER YOU.

At some point, I do know these things but I still find it hard to understand where God is leading me and why I would have to endure such things from such cruel people. I guess one of the things I realized, is that it is easier to say these things as an advice to another person but when you are the one in the situation, you surprise yourself by finding your own words of advices, hard to believe.

In the worst of times, my only weapon to which I rely on to keep myself from giving up on life, is my sturdy faith in the Lord.

Not living in hate and bitterness becomes a challenge but when I think about the little miracles in my life that reminds me that God has never abandoned me, I just cannot find the nerve to complain.

LIFE may be UNFAIR, but NOTHING CAN BE TOO WORSE FOR ME TO BEAR, and I know, GOD’S MIRACLES ARE THERE.

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Quotes, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

