Confessions of a Bookworm

I am a self-proclaimed bookworm. Not only do I love reading, I also collect books.

I can spend an entire day at a library or a bookstore and I won’t even notice the time. 🙂

Every time I go to National Bookstore or Booksale,  I always feel the need to buy at least one book to add to my collection.

My passion for books began back in those days when Francine Pascal’s Sweet Valley Twins were so damn popular. I was lucky to have an older sister who then owned a huge collection from Sweet Valley TWINS to Sweet Valley UNIVERSITY.

The first book I ever read from the series is entitled ‘BEST FRIENDS’. Having read this book, I instantly fell in love with the twins.

As I inherited my sister’s huge collection of the Sweet Valley series and Sweet Dreams pocket books, I became more and more hooked to reading. From Sweet Valley Twins, I switched to the teen horror series FEAR STREET by R.L. Stine. Eventually, I came to know other best-selling authors like Nicholas Sparks and Paulo Coelho.

I have not yet finished reading all the works of Nicholas Sparks and Paulo Coelho when I have been introduced to another set of bestselling authors. Last year, I began reading books by Richard North Patterson, James Patterson and John Grisham.

The first book I read which was by Richard North Patterson is Silent Witness. It was a book I borrowed from a former colleague. After reading such well-written story, I went out to buy my own copy and two more from the Richard North Patterson collection: Degree of Guilt and Dark Lady.

Silent Witness

Degree of Guilt

Dark Lady

.As for the books of James Patterson, my personal favorites are Kiss the Girls, Honeymoon and Sundays at Tiffany’s.If you have not yet read any of Richard North Patterson’s books, these are his books I highly recommend.You may check out other books from this author at his Official Website.

Kiss the Girls

Honeymoon

Sundays at Tiffany’s

For the record, I am not only into suspense thriller books but I also enjoyed all four books of  today’s most talked about Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer.
How I wish I can have my own library at home. I definitely need more room for my piling books. For now, I can only settle with displaying some of my favorites and those I have not yet read, while the rest would have to sleep in boxes. 😦

My limited bookshelf

Just some of my favorites

Well, you don’t always have to buy brand new books of bestselling authors. You can find copies of their works at BOOKSALE. Condition of the books vary. If you are lucky you can get one in mint condition for a price, which is way lesser than its regular tag price.  Now, if you are really short on budget, you can still enjoy reading by downloading FREE ebooks at PROJECT GUTENBERG.Enjoy reading! 🙂
About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on April 1, 2011, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I didn’t read Sweet Valley High, but one of my friends did and she told me they just came out with Sweet Valley Confidential, in which the twins are 27.

  2. Thanks for another informative website. Where else could I get that kind of information written in such a perfect way? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

Leave a Reply

