Stealing Home 1988

I absolutely LOVE this movie! It’s ONE of my all-time favorites!

Stealing Home

Image via Wikipedia

Not just because it’s from the 80’s (I’m an 80’s fan 🙂 ) but because it has a heartwarming love story. Jodi Foster is definitely the perfect Katie Chandler and William McNamara who played the young Billy Wyatt is too handsome for words. Plus, the theme song is too beautiful. Really, I could watch this movie over and over again.   For those who have not yet seen this movie, I highly recommend you to watch it. It only takes a couple of hours to download. 😉 Just to give you an idea, below is a short summary of the movie (but you must still see the movie itself to know exactly how wonderful the story goes. 🙂

Billy Wyatt is a middle aged man who lives in a motel with a cocktail waitress. One day, he receives a call from his mother who tells him Katie Chandler, who is Billy’s childhood friend and his first love, committed suicide and left a will saying Billy is to take responsibility for her ashes. When he returns to his hometown to fulfill his duty with Katie’s ashes, happy and sad memories of his childhood all came back. He began to recall those memorable times with his late father whom he shared such great passion for baseball, his adventures into manhood with his bestfriend Alan and mostly the times he spent with Katie. At first Billy was totally clueless as to what to do with Katie’s ashes, but in the end he finds the answer when he drifts back in time to that place where Katie made her wish. It was Katie who influenced Billy to break free even back in those days when he was just 10 and she was 16. And again in the end, it was still Katie who brought him back home reminding him of his love for baseball. Billy, who’ve had a part of him lost for several years finally found its missing piece and his life back.

Below are screenshots of some of my favorite scenes from Stealing Home. 🙂

Katie: When things get confusing, and they will..
this is to remind you, you’re a ball player.

Katie: Let’s go for a ride

Katie: “Every time something bad would happen… I’d go over to the pool and I’d touch the drain.. And it always made me feel better, you know?”

at Seasmoke…

That summer he last saw her…

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on April 6, 2011, in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Gian!!! I want to convert one of my categories into a page, just like what you did. How to do it??? Help!!! :p

  2. Hi Carms! Just go to your DASHBOARD, on the list on your left side panel select, APPEARANCE then from the sub menu select MENUS. The page will load and you should see tiny boxes with the following headers – Theme Locations, Custom links and if you will scroll down you should see CATEGORIES. There you can check the tickbox of the category you want to add (or you can check ‘select all’). When you’re done with your selection, click the button ADD TO MENU. 🙂 Hope this helps 🙂

  3. Love this movie as well! Since i was i child!
    I´ve seen it first when i was 10. After i forgot the movie´s name and lost it till i complete 16 years and “re-found” it!
    Now i finily ask to a friend who lives in USA to bring me Stealing Home, cause in my country there was none of this.
    And now i have it again!!
    Thanks god and my friend!!

  4. I love this movie too! Haven’t seen the underwater kiss in years!

  5. I love this movie! It was the first Jodie Foster movie I ever saw, so being a huge fan of hers, this film holds a very special place for me..

Leave a Reply

