Google DevFest 2011 – Manila

Now, I can proudly call myself a geek! 🙂 Not just because I was able to attend this Google event where all developers from different companies (even regions) gathered but this year also marks the beginning of my long term career as a developer. Shifting career is one of the hardest decisions I ever had to make at this point in my life. Spending almost three years working in a non-technical field, I shifted to IT to become a full fledged software engineer. It was not an easy decision to make because I had to consider the difficulty of starting from scratch but it was the best decision I ever made and I am happy where I am now. 🙂

So apart from the career shift, one of the highlights of my year 2011 would have to be attending the Google DevFest held about two weeks ago (September 19) at the Asian Institute of Management Conference Center. It was a first for me!

Last year, I wasn’t able to attend the Google DevFest 2010 held at the U.P.–Ayala Land TechnoHub, because when I found out about it, registration’s already closed. Seriously, I was really disappointed then because I was told the Google event in the Philippines happens only every four years. Not four days, four weeks or four months but four long years! However, a couple of weeks ago, I was given this link to the google site where I can register for this year’s Google DevFest. I think it had been only a four-day online registration and I was really happy that I was one of those lucky geeks who have been confirmed in the registration list.

For a first-timer or newbie like me, I must say I really had a fun experience learning a lot from the Google advocates and developers who discussed and conducted demos of the latest Google technologies and products being developed. It is so nice to see people who have so much passion for what they do and come up with really amazing stuff. For bringing about innovation, I believe these guys do not only earn such awesome bragging rights but a great amount of respect as well.

Christine Songco-Lau who hosted the event, is the SE Asia Lead – Developer Relations of Google and a Filipina. She opened the DevFest by introducing the other Google advocates and discussed briefly the program agenda.
Ankur Kotwal discussed Android, Market licensing and gave tips on how to make applications a success.
Eric Bidelman discussed how cool HTML5 is and even showed us amazing modern HTML5 web applications.
Ernest Delgado discussed Working off the Grid with HTML5 Offline. Photo courtesy of Aileen Apollo

Apart from learning about how cool Android, HTML5 and Geo Fusion Tables are, several developers from the audience also showcased their very own Android applications. I think at the end of the day, everyone went home inspired by the Google advocates to start developing their very own android application and I feel exactly the same!

After my very first Google DevFest experience, I am definitely looking forward to next year’s Google DevFest! Hope to see you there!



My freebies from Google Devfest  :)

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

