Post-Halloween Thoughts

I’ve always loved Halloween. And for many reasons my halloween this year had been a lot of fun. 🙂

Halloween Best Bay Decoration contest 
One reason would have to be the fact that I was able to get my creative juices to work decorating my department’s workstation.

I really had fun planning, (not to mention searching other blogs for ideas on  easy-to-make Halloween decors) and working with my team mates in coming up with unique Disney inspired Halloween decors that won our team the 2nd place award in the office Halloween Best Bay Decoration contest 🙂


Okay I admit at first, I was in doubt if my team will make it because the other groups came up with creative and unique decorations at their stations as well. 

One team transformed their area into looking like an eerie dark forest (complete with real dead trees) with the scary-looking version of the seven dwarfs and a bloody snow white. Their Disney bay was so scary that during the trick or treat event, several kids who went to their area, came out crying. 😆 No kidding. 😉

Another team transformed their area into a pirate ship with a huge octopus dangling over them. 🙂

But I guess it’s true what Michael Jordan said that “Talent wins games, but teamwork and intelligence wins championships.” because even if my team had the least number of members, our great teamwork and creative minds put together made us ahead of the others.

Hidden Talents Discovered
Also, this contest I must say paved the way for me and my team mates to discover each other’s hidden skills or talents. 

During those Sundays we spent working on the decors, I discovered that one of my workmates, had lantern-making skills, acquired from helping out with their family business.

Another colleague of mine, I consider to be crafty because he did a nice work with our backdrop, which had been amazingly hand-sewn by the other guys in our team. And I must say, the guys’ sewing skill is yet another interesting discovery. 🙂

Of course by now, my team knows that I have a knack for drawing 😛

In truth, this contest had been a challenge all along. It was hard enough that we were limited to using recycled materials for the decors but the fact that we were only five members in our team and we competed against teams with a range of 20 to 80 members each made this contest really challenging.  And this is why even if we just won the second place award, I am happy as if we won first! 🙂

A Halloween Weekend at Enchanted Kingdom
Aside from winning 2nd in our office contest, my Halloween this year had been extra fun because I got to spend it in Enchanted Kingdom, my favorite amusement park in the Philippines!

Below are a few photos of me taken with some famous characters who, like me, spent their Halloween at Enchanted Kingdom. 😛

There you go, that’s my Halloween 2011. As early as now I’ve made a vow to have an even better Halloween celebration next year by dressing up and attending a costume party since I didn’t get to try that this year. 😀

Oh crap, it’s just November but I’m already excited for Halloween 2012! 

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on November 6, 2011, in DIY, Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi , I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbled upon it on Yahoo , i will come back once again. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and help other people.

Leave a Reply

