2012 Resolution: Get rid of ‘What ifs’

What ifsAs a programmer, I encounter a lot of nested ifsΒ in codes and thinking about how it works in applications, it can pretty much be applied to real life. Putting if statements in codes help determine how the application will run, to which method it will go to next and sometimes cause the application to exit or stop.

I realized in life, it kind of works the same. The ‘what ifs’ running through a person’s mind determines or influences his or her decisions in life. In fact, sometimes having too many ‘what ifs’ can make a person miss opportunities and keep that person stuck in life. Never moving forward. Well, I don’t want to be that person anymore that’s why one of my resolutions this year is to get rid of ‘what ifs’.

Let me share with you an excerpt from Our Daily Bread vol. 18, which I find really inspirational in helping me fulfill my resolution. πŸ™‚

Why worry? Jesus said that it’s futile to fret, for worrying can’t change anything (Matt. 6:27).

“Can any of you add a single hour to the length of your life by worrying?” –Β Jesus

We need to remember that our heavenly Father knows all about our situation and watches us over (vv. 28-34). We can be sure that He will take care of our needs no matter what tomorrow brings. It’s better, therefore, to be wise and trust the Lord.

Remember, worry never solved a single problem! So don’t be a worrywart! Β 

By: M.R. De Haan, MD

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Quotes, Spiritual and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hello Gian! Sobrang natouch naman ako at naka-link pala blog ko sa page mo. I already listed your site sa main blog ko. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much!

    Did you receive the movie tickets I sent? I haven’t heard anything from you kasi. πŸ™‚

    • You’re welcome Miss Coffee Chic! πŸ™‚ Just wanted to share your great blog to other readers πŸ˜‰

      Anyway, I already emailed you about the movie passes πŸ™‚
      Again, thank you so much Algene! πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 01/10/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

