DIY: How To Make Polvoron

Last night, I made a second attempt to make delicious polvoron (or β€œpulburon” in the Philippines) following a recipe I googled on the internet. And I am proud to say this time I finally succeeded! πŸ™‚ I would not exactly consider it a milestone reached with regards to my kitchen skills but I am very happy nonetheless! πŸ˜€

If you would like to try making polvoron at home you might find the simple recipe I used below really helpful. You may also check out the original recipe at mmdelrosario.hubpages.com.

POLVORON RECIPE

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2 cups powdered milk
  • 1 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • Polvoron Molder
  • Japanese paper or cellophane (Optional)

What to do:

  1. On a pan, toast flour in a moderate heat for about 15 minutes, or until light brown, stir constantly to avoid burning.
  2. Remove the pan and transfer the mixture on a big bowl.
  3. Add the powdered milk, toss for another 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add sugar and melted butter. Mix well.
  5. Fill the mould with the mixture, press it hard by using a spoon, then release it, if it is still too loose, add more butter or olive oil. Make sure that you could pick up the polvoron without it crumbling easily.
  6. Place the polvoron in an airtight container, chill in the fridge until firm.
  7. Carefully wrap the polvoron individually in japanese paper or cellophane.

Β 

After this mini success I must say I’ve gained confidence in the kitchen (this coming from someone who rarely cooks!). πŸ˜€ In fact, I am going to make more polvorons in different flavours! haha! Happy Thursday everyone! πŸ™‚

Acknowledgements:
For this kitchen activity I would like to thank MM Del Rosario for sharing the polvoron recipe and some tips on her blog.I would also like to thank my mom and dad for being my official food tasters for this kitchen activity. πŸ˜€

Related Articles:

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on October 18, 2012, in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. looks yummy!!! make some for us ms gian πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Abby!! πŸ™‚ hahaha! sure! πŸ™‚ Hey thanks for posting the team’s photos! Brings back memories! Nakaka-aliw yun halloween decors nyo! And you guys look like you had fun making them πŸ™‚

      • Hope to see u din po πŸ™‚ hahaha… Talo nga po un e… pero ok lang po nag enjoy din kami dun hahaha πŸ™‚ Dapat nga po papadrawing kami sayo sabi n kuya jek kase wla kahit isa samen ang may talent for drawing πŸ™‚ Mas maganda pa din ung sa inyo ms gian πŸ™‚ Anyways we would wait for ur polvoron πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

