Birthday Party for a Good Cause

Two weeks ago, my friend from college celebrated his birthday at Hospicio de San Jose (a home care to hundreds of young children and senior citizens who have been abandoned by their families). A total of sixty kids came to party with us. Back in high school and college, I have actively participated in outreach programs but this was my first time to attend a birthday outreach party. 🙂

Arwin’s Birthday Party at Hospicio de San Jose 🙂

I really admire my friend for coming up with this kind of birthday party. Why? Most people would opt to throw a typical birthday party gathering friends at a bar or a restaurant. My friend, on the other hand, gave up a booze party and chose to celebrate his birthday with 60 orphans. He said that he feels he’s been so blessed and that’s why he thought of sharing his blessings through an act of charity. 🙂

A thank you message from birthday boy Arwin 🙂

I’m happy that I got the chance to be a part of that heart-warming event. While waiting for the other guests to arrive I even had the chance to have a little chit chat with a Vietnamese nun. I learned that she’s been doing missionary work for 6 months now here in the Philippines. 🙂 I’m honored to meet such an amazing person 🙂 She’s really someone to be admired for the volunteer work she does! I wish we had more time to talk though!

Gangnam Style Dance contest for the kids :))

Loads of food for everyone prepared by our friend Charm 🙂

What can I say? Meeting a Vietnamese nun, colourful clowns, fun games, feeding the kids, seeing old friends — I had a good time! 😉 It was a truly one of a kind experience. 🙂


I’m not really the type to throw birthday parties. However, after participating in my friend’s outreach party last Saturday I’m now open to the idea of throwing the same kind of party for myself next year (or in the years to come). 😉 

Friends since college 😀

Related Articles:

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on November 16, 2012, in Events and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wonderful and looks like everyone was having a good time! Thanks for visiting/following my blog, too.

  1. Pingback: Outreach Activity in Tarlac with Diksyonaryo ATBP. | Live, Learn and Pass it on!

Leave a Reply

