Travel Diaries: The Ruins in Talisay, Negros Occidental

One of the highlights of my trip to Bacolod last July is The Ruins Lacson Mansion or the so called “Taj Mahal of Negros Occidental”. 

DSCF1443

I’ve already seen it on some photos but I never thought that it would truly be a sight to behold. And knowing that there’s a great story behind this beautiful structure, makes it even more intriguing. 

DSCF1582

The old mansion was so picturesque that I wanted to take photos of it in different angles. No kidding! And if you know me well enough, you know I did. 😀 Seriously, I wish we had the time to come back in the evening. I’m sure the mansion looks even more romantic at night with all the lights on.

S0071466

S0121494

S0051459.JPG

If you are to visit Bacolod, I highly suggest you come and see The Ruins. And when you’re there make sure to hear the tales of the old mansion from a local tour guide. Our tour guide, Mars (the guy in the photo below), is a descendant of Don Mariano Ledesma Lacson . Well, jokingly that’s who he claims to be. 😀 Whether he’s a true Lacson or not, I enjoyed listening to his stories of the mansion.

DSCF1504

S0131525.JPG

I prefer not to spoil your trip to The Ruins so I will not share the stories of the mansion here. But I do have a few tips for your trip. 🙂

  • When you plan to go to the Ruins during the day, go there around lunch time. There are not much people around probably because of the heat so you can take great photos without photobombers.
  • Bring a monopod and a bluetooth shutter so you can have everyone in your group in the photos.
  • Ask tips from the local guide on how to take creative photos (I can’t guarantee you though that they will have the time to take your photos).
  • Don’t forget to sign the guestbook!
  • Make sure to stop by the souvenir shop for some shirts, magnets and keychains. They have local delicacies too but I’d recommend BongBong’s Pasalubong Center for their wide selection.

My travel diaires for Iloilo and Guimaras to follow! 🙂

About Gian Ramos

God-fearing. Scholar of Life. A Work in Progress. Bookworm. Swimmer. Aspiring Pianist. Colorful. Creative. Hopeless Romantic. Happy Dog Owner of 6. Proud Pinoy. I am a Filipina born and raised in Manila. I created this blog to share bits and pieces of myself to the world and hopefully to inspire.

Posted on August 11, 2016, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

